January TBR (and bookshelf reorganisation!)

Hello lovelies! I hope that 2017 is treating you all well so far – it’s nice to get back to a little bit of normality, isn’t it?

I moved back into my university halls yesterday and spent the day organising my diary for the year and sorting the books I got for Christmas onto my bookshelves. I’ll include some pictures down below for those who like looking at that kind of thing, but the main purpose of this post is to have a little look at the books I plan on reading in January.

With my academic year wrapping up mid-February, and my final assignment due in a couple of weeks, I don’t think that I’ll plough through books as fast as I would like. I’ve decided to keep it simple, whilst also remembering my resolution to read 50 pages of a book each day. That should hopefully work out to around 3 books.

The first book I want to read this month is The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness. I have been neglecting this book over Christmas, so I’m going to go back to the beginning and start again, hopefully with better results this time! I think that once I get into it that I’ll be hooked. When I’m finished that, I plan on either reading Monsters of Men also by Patrick Ness, which should finish off the series.

I might fancy a break from the series though, in which case I plan on reading Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I find that the books in this series so far are easy to get into just because of the layout of the pages. You don’t have to wait for a chapter end to stop, you can often read a page in seconds, and you get through them quicker which is encouraging for when you’re feeling a little slumpy with your reading. Given my slow progress with my current read this might be a good idea.

And finally, if I have time I want to get started on Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. The only thing stopping me is that I think I’ll immediately want the next book in the series, if it’s anything like her other book, A Court of Mist and Fury. But maybe this will be the year of self-restraint as well, and I can get through some of the books I already own before getting too sucked into another series!

That’s it for my January TBR, folks! For the shelvie lovers amongst you, below you’ll find a few (bad) pictures of my shelf at university. In the comments, let me know what books you plan to read for January. Are you starting any challenges?

IMG_0122.JPG

 

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

 

FullSizeRender 6.jpg

 

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

Have a lovely rest of January!

Leave a Reply

