Reading Habits Tag

I know I have done a fair few of these, but I find them so fun and they get me thinking about my reading. I wasn’t tagged, but I have tagged myself because I can.

The tag was originally created by TheBookJazz who’s original video is here.

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

At home I’m most likely to read in my bedroom, because who wants to get out of a pillow nest when you could stay cosy with a book all day? But also if there’s noise from the other upstairs rooms, or from the other bedrooms when I’m in my uni flat, I tend to just go in the living room to read. Although that’s not very often since I have very considerate flatmates!

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

So I have a confession. I got my first bookmark in a while this Christmas. As in two weeks ago. Meaning that until very recently I dog eared my pages. I am so sorry.

Obviously this isn’t the worst thing in the world, and at the time I loved it because it made my books look used and worn which I liked. But now I’ve taken my reading more seriously again I’d like to let them get that way naturally, not just because I treated them poorly. Although sometimes I do still do it. It’s a hard habit to break!

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop reading after a chapter/certain number of pages?

Depends on the length of the chapters. If they’re long chapters, odds are I won’t have the patience to make it to the end and I’ll give up halfway through. But in (sensible!) short-chaptered books I always tend to make it to the end of the chapter. Obvious exceptions being when I’m reading on public transport and need to get off.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

I like the idea of snuggling up with a cup of tea and a book, but I don’t often tend to do it. At uni I have nowhere to put my tea without it risking being spilled but sometimes when reading at home I’ll snuggle in bed with a nice hot cuppa and read for an hour or so.

5. Multitasking – music or TV whilst reading? 

Absolutely not! I would love to be able to listen to classical music, or read in the same room as someone watching the telly, but I tend to need white noise. Occasionally if it’s a super addictive book then I can read in silence, but I like to hear the rumble of the telly downstairs or I use Coffitivity for white noise.

6. One book at a time or several all at once?

One book at a time. I am so unfocused it’s laughable.

7. Reading at home or everywhere? 

I actually find that I do more productive reading on public transport (so long as nobody is talking loudly on their phone in the quiet coach goddammit people!). At home I tend to talk to myself about my opinions on the book, like a totally normal person, whereas I’ve found that doesn’t go down well on the train.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

In my head, the words don’t go in if I read aloud. Exceptions would be me whispering a funny word I read to myself, or trying to figure out how to say the name of some fantasy kingdom. Hasn’t helped me figure out how to say Rhysand though – is it RICEAND or REECEAND? Please help me.

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I hate to admit it but I read ahead! Never on purpose though! It’s always like ‘oh let’s see how far I am to the end of this chapter! And then accidentally read the last paragraph!’. And then I get mad at myself for spoiling it. But I know exactly what I’m doing, I just have no self-control.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new? 

Like the dog ears, I used to be a spine breaker. Again, the shame. But now I try and just let the book do it’s thing. If the spine breaks that’s okay, it’s kind of like a stretch mark for your book and it shows you’ve loved it. But if it doesn’t break then cool! I’m not really fussed.

11. Do you write in your books?

Not really, but I’m not opposed to it. Like if I had something profound to say then I would probably maybe put in a sticky note, or pencil it in if I needed to write it there and then. But I just don’t tend to really analyse my books as I read them.

12. Who do you tag?

If you’re reading this and fancy giving it a go, check out the video linked at the top and then do this yourself! And tag me so I can see what you guys say!

And if you have any weird or quirky reading habits, let me know them in the comments – it’s so interesting how we all have our own little ways of doing something so simple!

One thought on “Reading Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

