January 2017 Wrap-Up and February TBR

So we’re a month into 2017 already! Are you coping? Just about hanging in there. We can do this guys.

Reading-wise, January wasn’t quite as brilliant as I wanted, but it wasn’t awful considering that this is the month I’m wrapping up the first year of my degree. I managed to read four books. I had planned on reading just the four, and I’m still on track to meet my Goodreads goal of 50 books, so I’d say this was a good month! Links are to my Goodreads reviews.

The first two books I read in January are the final two books in Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking Trilogy: The Ask and the Answerand Monsters of MenI liked them, but overall they weren’t my favourite Ness books. I think there’s probably a fair chance that I ruined them for myself by ploughing through the series, so I might revisit these at a later time to see if my feelings on them change!

Next I read Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I was pleasantly surprised by this book, I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I do especially with the love triangle being quite a significant part of the story. Something about this book held my interest throughout all of that though, and I am so excited to see where the series goes. I have a lot of catching up to do, and apparently Queen of Shadows is brilliant! I also like that this is a detailed but easy to read fantasy so far, which I think is going to be great for when I have a sudden urge to read fantasy and get sucked into another world. Also, SJM gets extra brownie points for super short chapters!

Finally, I literally just finished reading Gemina (The Illuminae Files_02) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Not as good as Illuminae, although I can’t quite put my finger on why. Maybe because it wasn’t as creepy, and the creative style of storytelling just didn’t seem to be used to good effect here. I wasn’t really all that invested in the plot, or the characters, or the romance (which was more tolerable than in the first book), but I will still most likely come back and finish the series just out of curiosity for how it all ends and where they take us. I think my feelings towards this series is part the fault of the authors, but also just my personal reading preferences. One thing I love is that I tend to get through these books pretty quickly, so my interest never really dips even if I’m not that engaged in it, if that makes sense?

February TBR

For the majority of the month of February I will be on break from university, which will either mean great things for my reading, or that it will all fall to pieces. I hope it’s the first one! Now I’m getting into the swing of reading again I’m going to aim for five books, although two of those are quite long and another is a classic, so I might not do so well.

I’m going to start off with the fourth book in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate EventsThe Miserable MillI re-read the first three books last year, but I want to try to go through the whole series throughout the year so I can spot all of the little Easter eggs in the Netflix series. And this will be a nice easy read to give me a bit of encouragement before tackling the longer/harder reads I have planned for this month.

I haven’t decided on the order for the next three books, but they were Christmas gifts which I really want to get through so I can start buying more books! These are: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. This is also inkeeping with my goal for 2017 of reading more classics, so hopefully this gets me off to a good start! For my fifth book I’m going to see how I feel. I might want to continue a series, or possibly re-read a nice easy book if I tire myself out reading the books I’ve already decided on.

What about you guys? How’s your reading going? Are there any books you’re excited to read for this month?

Leave a Reply

